The Art in the Adirondacks’ events calendar is a centralized resource for arts, culture and heritage tourism and covers events occurring in the following counties: St. Lawrence, Franklin, Clinton, Essex, Warren, Washington, Saratoga, Hamilton, Fulton, Herkimer, Oneida, Lewis, Montgomery and Schenectady Counties. To post your event email the specifics to: [email protected].


Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

February Book Club at the Bookstore Plus

February 5 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

OUR BOOK CLUB PICK FOR February 2019 | “Crimson Lake” by Candice Fox

On the first Tuesday of every month, The Bookstore Plus hosts a unique Book Club experience where readers have the opportunity to discuss the book club pick with the author via video chat! Tuesday, February 5th, 2019, at 7:00 pm the author, Candice Fox, will join us via Skype to discuss and answer questions about her book Crimson Lake. Our book club is open to the public. Pick up your copy today at The Bookstore Plus.

BOOK SUMMARY |

ABOUT THE AUTHOR |

About The Book: Crimson Lake by Sydney-based, Ned Kelly award-winning author Candice Fox is a thrilling contemporary crime novel set in Queensland, Australia, perfect for readers of authors like James Patterson, Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner, and Tana French.

Six minutes – that’s all it took to ruin Detective Ted Conkaffey’s life. Accused but not convicted of abducting a teenage girl, he escapes north, to the steamy, croc-infested wetlands of Crimson Lake.

Amanda Pharrell knows what it’s like to be public enemy number one. Maybe it’s her murderous past that makes her so good as a private investigator, tracking lost souls in the wilderness. Her latest target, missing author Jake Scully, has a life more shrouded in secrets than her own – so she enlists help from the one person in town more hated than she is: Ted Conkaffey.

But the residents of Crimson Lake are watching the pair’s every move. And for Ted, a man already at breaking point, this town is offering no place to hide.

About The Author: Hades, Candice Fox’s first novel, won the Ned Kelly Award for best debut in 2014 from the Australian Crime Writers Association. The sequel, Eden, won the Ned Kelly Award for best crime novel in 2015, making Candice only the second author to win these accolades back-to-back.

In 2015 Candice began collaborating with James Patterson. Their first novel together, Never Never, set in the vast Australian outback, was a huge bestseller in Australia and went straight to number 1 on the New York Times bestseller list in the US and also to the top of the charts in the UK. Since then they have written Black & Blue, Fifty Fifty, Liar Liar in the Harriet Blue series. Her books are printed in fifteen languages.

Bankstown born and bred, she failed to conform to military life in a brief stint as an officer in the Royal Australian Navy at age eighteen. At twenty, she turned her hand to academia, and taught high school through two undergraduate and two postgraduate degrees. She is a crafter, animal-lover and wine drinker living in Sydney.

Details

Date:
February 5
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Event Category:

Venue

The Bookstore Plus
2491 Main Street
Lake Placid,NY12946United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
(518) 523-2950
Website:
www.thebookstoreplus.com